Nutella Star Bread Trial #1

So this evening I finally took the plunge (after wanting to for months) & had a first attempt at Nutella Star Bread.

I have seen a few videos on YouTube, seen various pins on Pinterest, read a few Blogs & thought I may just give this a go!

Now as far my first attempt went, I was rather pleased with it… Albeit in a little miffed with the different variations in recipe that are out there on the ever growing web. So I went with the flow, but I will not as yet reveal my own perfected method as I’ve yet to perfect it myself!!!

I went for the easy option of using Jus-Rol premade croissant dough for speed,  although I’m thinking by the time you’ve opened 1 or possibly 2 misaligned cans (that you fight with to open), the other cans, kneaded the dough into balls, rolled the dough out – it possibly may just be easier to make your own dough from scratch (which is what I’m going to try next time).

I’m also going to play around with the baking times as I’m not convinced the recipe I followed was as accurate as it could’ve been for that, also the assembly method needs a few tweaks here & there… I’m actually going to go full OCD on the next trial, I shall weigh my Nutella into 3 portions so each layer had the exact same amount in & I’ll also evenly mark out where to cut, so the portions are totally even, for that perfect star shape 🌟

There are a few other things that need tweaking such as the loose ends, some recipes tell you to pinch together while others say tuck them under – so I want to add my own little twist to the ends instead (yes, of course I’ll blog when I do the next trial)…

So l expect you’d like to see exactly what my first efforts were like?

image

Beginning to section

image

Taking shape

image

Ready to bake

image

Finished product

Not too shabby for a first attempt? Some of the ratings (marks out of 5) from tonight’s tasters:

Hermione ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Cameron ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Anneliese ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Jez ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Anna ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Little Duncan ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

So I would say overall it pretty much got a full 5 ⭐ from everyone, which is rather good on a first attempt in my book! I wonder how the next trial will turn out?!  Any volunteers for tasters???

2 responses to “Nutella Star Bread Trial #1

    • Let me know when you are coming to visit Shazzie, I’ll be sure to make one! Just need advance notice so I have the correct ingredients in & of course enough Nutella!!! X

Leave a Reply

